Khuisiin Naiman Nuur /Eight Lakes/

The Khuisiin Naiman Nuur national monument is located in Khangai mountain range, Central Mongolia. The area of Naiman Nuur (Eight Lakes), which was created by volcanic eruptions about 8000 years ago and Khuisiin Naiman Nuur is located on over 2,400 meter above sea level. The area of 11,500 hectare size was declared a National Monument in 1992. 

From the lakes, about 35 km southwest of Orkhon waterfall, but the roads are often virtually impassable. This way is accessible only to hikers and horsemen/women who will enjoy an exceptional nature, whereas the jeeps will have to skirt round the mountains by Bat Ulzii, or even by the track to Khujirt in case of heavy rain. The lakes are named Shireet, Khaliut, Bugat, Khaya, Khuis, Onon, Doroo and Bayan-Uul. Two of the smaller lakes are completely dried up, the second largest lake Khuis Nuur is dried up to ten percent. The lakes located in a high mountain area with sub alpine mountain meadows and coniferous forests of Siberian Pine and Siberian Larch; flat valley areas with lava stone fields in the north of the protected area and barren mountain tops, and the lakes. The mean air temperature is minus 8 to minus 6 degree Celsius, and the annual total precipitation is 400 to 500 millimeter. In this area, there are 50 species from 22 families have been recorded such as Black-throated Diver, Great Cormoran, Bar-headed Goose and Whooper Swan. The area covers 11,500 hectares around the lake located in the Uyanga soum territory of Ovorkhangai aimag to the southwest of the Khangai mountain range and its surrounding area. It was placed under state special protection, and was included in the category "Cultural and Historical Sites".

Khuisiin Naiman Nuur with its exceptional configuration is surrounded by the beautiful nature of the middle part of the Khangai mountain range.

Location: 520 km from Ulaanbaatar, 70 km from Bat-Ulzii town of Uvurkhangai province.